Skip to content

I Need Help!

January 13, 2011

So, I have a dilemma. I have a vintage crazy quilt. That’s a pretty good dilemma.

Unfortunately, this vintage quilt comes extremely pre-loved.

My favourite thing to do with this quilt is find new patches of fabric and wish I had a whole bolt. Here are a few of my favourites:

And yet there are some things I’m not so crazy about…This block looks like human hair was sewn on. Weird.

This is the hand- quilting.

The quilt has a lot of fraying and even a couple of places where is is worn straight through to the backing. I love the quilt (most of it, anyway), so I’ve got a couple of options.

1. I can take the quilt top off, patch over the holes, and re-quilt it with new batting and backing. The down side to this is that I lose the lovely hand quilting. The quilt is a bit too light, though and I could upgrade it to cotton batting from polyester.

2. I can attempt to patch over all affected blocks, over top of old batting. With this method, the back would look weird, and truth be told, I’m not crazy about the backing or the way the edging was done.

3. I can take apart the entire thing and use the pieces of fabric that I like for projects.

4. I can leave it as is.

Ok, let me know what you think.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 3:17 pm

    It’s a lovely quilt. My first thought is to take the top off and replace the blocks/squares that need replacing and add new batting and backing.
    Good luck!

  2. January 13, 2011 7:44 pm

    I think you’ve answered your own question there 🙂 Option of taking the quilt apart and fixing it up is the best in my opinion too. That way you can choose your own backing, batting and edging! I agree that it would be sad to lose the hand quilting but it would be an opportunity to try something new or even repeat the design yourself. Whatever you decide, I’d love to see the outcome on your blog :)))

    • January 15, 2011 4:27 pm

      I kind of did answer my own question, hey? I guess I just feel a bit guilty dissembling someone else’s handiwork. Thanks for your input!

  3. January 14, 2011 4:47 pm

    It sounds like #1 is the right choice for you to be totally happy with the quilt.

  4. February 8, 2011 11:56 pm

    We have some like this from a Great Grandma, minus the “hair.” I just keep washing them and using them and figure when they fall apart I’ll cut them to bits.

Leave a Reply

