Skip to content

My New Baby

January 23, 2011

In my family, we don’t really give a lot of gifts, with the exception of Christmas. Even then, we draw a name and only buy for one person in the family. I like it that way. I struggle with buying people gifts, I never know what to give. I guess it’s just not a strength of mine. But my little brother  (He’s 23, maybe that’s not so little) told me last summer that he wanted a pocket watch, I couldn’t help myself. I had to find him a pocket watch. It was the cutest request ever!  Then when I was talking to him on the phone, he told me that he had something for me. In my family, we pick the name of one person in the family and only buy a gift for them. My brother and I didn’t have each other’s names, so after Christmas, we traded presents in secret. Here’s what I got!

This is one of my most favourite gifts I have ever received, not only because it is the cutest little vintage Singer ever, but because my brother knew me well enough that when he saw this beauty, he thought of me. We live a 12 hour drive apart, so my new sewing machine is my little reminder of him. It’s a 185k, and it even came with a box of 6 attachments. I truly did a little dance, I was so excited. I got a ruffler, a hemmer foot, a shirrer, a zipper foot, and a binding foot, which I didn’t even know exsisted before I got it. I know that is only 5, but I don’t know the name of the last one.

OK, now I officially miss my brother!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

