Skip to content

A Little Change…. Stuffed Mushrooms Anyone?

January 29, 2011

I really don’t want to make a habit of posting a ton of recipes, since that’s not really what this blog is about, but I have a recipe that is just too good not to share. I started with a recipe from a cookbook, and ended up ultimately changing it entirely.

First I washed my mushrooms and pulled out their stems. I used 27 largish white button mushrooms.

Then I got a pan with a lid and I put in about a half inch of water and about half a teaspoon of butter. Why the butter? I just wanted to. I don’t know if it really changed the flavour that much, but it seemed better than just water. Warm that up to a simmer on about medium heat.

Then I placed as many mushrooms as I could into the pan, smooth side down, covered them, and let that go for 5 minutes.

Then I pulled them out with tongs, dumping out the water that accumulated in them and put them on a baking pan. Be careful! Those are some slippery buggers.

Now it’s time to make the filling! Chop up about 4 cloves of garlic and about 4 of the mushroom stems finely. Put the rest of those stems in your fridge for later! Don’t waste them!

I emptied the buttery water out of my pan and added about another teaspoon of butter (this one is necessary, I promise) and melted it on medium- low. Once it melted, I  added my garlic and chopped stems. I sauted that for about a minute, then you could add about 3 handfuls of spinach, but since I was out of fresh spinach, so I just used half of a package of frozen spinach with the excess water squeezed out. I then added one brick of cream cheese, cubed up so that it will melt and mix in faster. Then I added 1/4 tsp rosemary and sage and 1/8 of a teaspoon thyme.

While all of this was melting, I grated about 1 1/4 cups of asiago cheese finely. I took the spinach mixture off the burner once melted and added one cup of my asiago.

Then I stuffed the caps and sprinkled the remainder of the Asiago on top. Finally baked it at 375F for 10 to 15 minutes, or until the top is bubbly and brown.

Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 5:05 pm

    ❤ mushrooms! …and pretty much all the other ingredients. I have a few potlucks coming up in the next couple weeks. Maybe I'll try this out.

Leave a Reply

