Skip to content

Blooming Tank Tutorial

February 1, 2011

I have been really interested lately in clothing refashioning and wanted to give it a shot. I have seen things kind of like this around on the internet, but didn’t know of a tutorial, so I made my own.

It was really simple. First I took an old tank top I wasn’t crazy about and some extra fabric I had around. The fabric is kind of a rough silk. I took a bowl and traced a circle onto my tank top.

Then I cut up my secondary fabric into one inch strips and sewed it at a very high tension, causing it to ruffle up.

I pinned the ruffle into a spiral on the tank top, starting with the line that I drew on it and sewed it up! It was so quick and simple and I really love the way it turned out. The texture is fantastic! I also think that it would work really well on a throw pillow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

