Skip to content

A Facelift For My Sewing Machine Case

February 25, 2011

The sewing machine that I use for everyday sewing is the Singer 201k. I bought it for three dollars at a thrift store, and it was made in Scotland in 1956. I adore my beefy old machine. Beefy in an endearing way. Like when my Mom told me I was special when I was a kid. But the case leaves a bit to be desired.

Maybe beefy in a non-endearing way? Maybe beefy in a 50 year old sack of meat way? Maybe?

So I decided to do something about it. I bought some Mod Podge (which I’d never used before), some fabric, and I gave it a whirl. It is amazing how simple it was. I just cut the fabric to size and ironed it, then Mod Podged it on, sewed the piping, then glued that on! The trickiest part was the latches on the sides, because they didn’t come out, so I had to cut holes just smaller than the hardware with snips all around the edge. Then I used a knife and tucked the little snips in.

I think I’m pretty pleased with how it came out.

Now I think it says, “I’m cute and I look great in contrast with this headboard.” It’s actually a bit greener in real life, I just had trouble capturing the true colour in the picture. I think I’d like to get a new handle for it, too. Right now it’s like a woman’s hands, it gives away her true age.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 7:17 pm

    This is super cool! I love it! -Mod Podge Amy

  2. February 26, 2011 7:28 pm

    Love it…….great job. What a difference Mod Podge makes.
    Awesome

  3. February 26, 2011 8:18 pm

    Hi!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Foziewisp! Love your blog…so clever this transformation! Love it! Cute Etsy shop, too!

  4. February 26, 2011 8:18 pm

    Very nice! I have a couple of “well-aged” machines which could use new duds too. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. February 26, 2011 9:17 pm

    Lovely!

  6. February 26, 2011 10:08 pm

    AH-dorable! Thanks for sharing your process and how you handled the pesky latches. It looks professional!

  7. Carol in E TN permalink
    February 26, 2011 10:39 pm

    I typed my email addy wrong on my former comment, so this one I have corrected! Love you idea!

  8. February 27, 2011 1:55 pm

    oh, i agree. i think this case is so very, very happy. beautiful!

Leave a Reply

